

Nomination Packet

Nominate your peers today for one of these prestigious awards!

- CEO Award of Excellence
- Association Staff Award of Excellence
- Associate Member Award of Excellence
- Career Service Award

Who should win?

Provide 50 words or less telling us why.

Name

Title

Association/Company

Nominated By _____ Phone ____

□ Staff \Box Associate Award: \Box CEO Please use a separate page for each award nomination. □ Career Service:

Previous recipients are listed on page 2 and if needed suggested criteria/guidelines are listed on page 3.

You may include additional documents you feel supports the nomination; however, we would prefer each submission be limited to 1-2 pages. Should additional information be required, we will contact you.

Awards will be presented at the Awards Luncheon & Silent Auction on Friday, December 7, 2018.

Nomination Forms are due by Friday, September 7, 2018.

Questions: (804) 747-4971. Submission: Fax (804) 747-5022 or info@vsae.org.

Past Recipients

CEO Award of Excellence

2017: Dale Bennett
2016: Richard Johnstone, Jr.
2015: Rick Eisenman, CAE
2014: Stephanie Peters, CAE
2013: Steve Akridge
2012: Robert N. Bradshaw, Jr. MAM
2011: Michael J. O'Connor, CAE
2010: Charles R. Covert, Jr., CAE
2009: Steve Morrisette, CAE
2008: Dave Phillips, CAE
2007: David Norman
2006: Donna Pugh Johnson
2005: John R. Broadway

2004: William H. Baxter, CAE 2003: Judy M. Smith, CMP 2002: William P. Elwood 2001: James D. Campbell, CAE 2000: Michael D. Ward 1999: John W. Macllroy, CAE 1998: Richard Daugherity, CAE 1997: Peter Easter, CAE 1996: James C. Stutts, CAE 1995: Mark Singer 1994: James Carlton Courter, III 1993: Ted L. Smith, CAE 1992: None Awarded

Association Staff Award of Excellence

2017: Barbara Homiller, CAE	2013: Dean A. Lynch, CAE
2016: Wilmer Stoneman, III, CAE	2012: Maureen Dingus, CAE
2015: Cassie White	2011: Robert M. Ramsey, CAE
2014: Danny Mitchell, AAI	2010: Sue Goldman, CAE, RCE

Associate Member Award of Excellence

2017: Kurt Krause
2016: Lisa MacArthur
2015: Denise Creasman
2014: Susan Holland
2013: Bob Hudson
2012: Tim Stacer, CMP
2011: Michele Vetter Moker
2010: Gus A. Shelton, III
2009: Blanche Powell

2008: Jason Whitt 2007: Tom Spong 2006: Jolene (Butler) Boatright 2005: Andrew Mann 2004: Susan Bowerman 2003: W. K. "Kim" Beachum 2002: Robert Hayes 2001: Joanne Tripp 2000: Dennis Flannery

1991: Sumpter T. Priddy, Jr.
1990: Elsie Reamy, CAE
1989: Charles F. Finley, Jr., CAE
1988: James F. Duckhardt, CAE
1987: E.D. Catterton
1986: J. Randy Bush, CAE
1985: David G. Ottaway, CAE
1984: Thomas M. Berry, CAE
1983: Herbert C. Clegg
1982: Shockley D. Gardner, Jr.
1981: Mark W. Saurs, CAE
1980: Jeff D. Smith, Jr. CAE

2009: Kathleen Bozis, CAE2008: Tracie Grady2007: Keith Cheatham2006: D. Jan Morehead, CAE

1999: Harriet Harris
1998: Missie Marks
1997: Jeff Ford, CMP
1996: Kelly Burd-Adams
1995: Sally Noona
1994: Timothy H. Thomas, CHME
1993: Rick Eisenman, CAE

2008: Jimmy Haynes, Sheraton Richmond West 2004: Carmela Bills, Virginia General Assembly 2001: Pete Sheffey, Martha Washington Inn 2000: Woodrow Pettus, The Homestead 1999: Carlos Wilson, The Cavalier

- **Distinguished Service / Career Service Award** 2017: Debbie Dabney
- 2015: Houston Pettus, Omni Richmond Hotel
- 2013: Carolyn Blanchard, Colonial Williamsburg Hotels
- 2012: Howard Feiertag, CHA, CMP, CHME, Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Tech
- 2011: Don Ryder, The Homestead
- 2010: Kristi Reynolds, Wintergreen Resort
- 2009: Jeff Winters, Golden Horseshoe Golf Club

Nomination Guidelines

Purpose

To provide VSAE the opportunity to recognize those among its membership who have distinguished themselves and have met standards of excellence in the field of association management in Virginia. If nominees do not meet the criteria as established, the award is not presented that year.

Criteria

CEO

- CEO Executive Member (Current or former CEO)
- Member of VSAE (required)
- Held current position long enough to be judged on a number of achievements
- Manifests professionalism and high integrity
- Recognized by peers as a professional and a leader
- Holds a record of success and achievement in association management
- Provides leadership and service to VSAE

Staff

- Non-CEO Executive Member
- Member of VSAE (required)
- Held current position long enough to be judged on a number of achievements
- Manifests professionalism and high integrity
- Recognized by peers as a professional and a leader
- Holds a record of success and achievement in association management
- Provides leadership and service to VSAE

Associate

- Associate (Supplier) Member
- Member of VSAE (required)
- Served on or chaired VSAE committee(s)
- Received honors, awards or recognition from employer
- Participated in civic activities
- Recognized by peers as a professional and a leader

Career Service

Purpose

This award is intended to be bestowed on individuals outside of the field of association management. It recognizes a special individual who by hard work, a pleasing personality and dedication to his or her job has provided exceptional service over an extended period of time to multiple associations and their members. This award will not necessarily be awarded annually, but shall be presented only when the Awards Committee and Board feel it is appropriate.

Criteria

- Nominee <u>cannot</u> be a member or work for a member association of VSAE (employer may or may not be an Associate member of VSAE)
- Due to the nature of this award, nominations may only be submitted by Executive Members
- Supports the association industry in current or former employment
- Manifests professionalism and high integrity
- Holds a record of success/achievement within their industry

Past winners

Past winners have been from the hospitality industry and the General Assembly. However, nominees may be anyone who has provided exceptional service to association executives and their members over an extended period of time.